Single Serving Chicken and Rice

I am kind of weird about left overs. I got sick once in college, so it’s totally a mental thing. That being said,  it is hard to cook a meal for one person.  I got some positive feedback a couple months ago when I shared my single serving Cherry Tomato Fusilli. In that post, I shared some of the struggles I faced last year finding great things to eat. It can be very challenging to go from cooking for a family down to one person, or a couple people. So, while I don’t consider myself a foodie/chef in any way… I thought I would share one of my favorite recipes that I’ve customized into a quick and easy meal for one!

quick and easy meals for one! Chicken and Rice! This is my favorite dish and it's so nice to make a small portion for one person. done in 45 min!

Chicken and Rice is my favorite comfort food, it was always my request for birthday dinners and special occasions growing up. I was determined to find a way to make it without being wasteful or storing a ton of leftovers I know I’ll never eat.  This is super simple to make and it’s a one dish recipe which is always great for cleanup! If you’re a person that does love leftovers, this is also a great recipe to use up some of that left over chicken!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup of rice
  • Two heaping spoonfuls of cream of celery soup (about half the can).
    Note: you can also substitute cream of mushroom or cream of chicken. 
  • Sliced Mushrooms (Totally optional. I just love mushrooms so I add a few in there for fun!)
  • Lipton’s Onion Soup Mix. (Just a couple of pinches of this go a long way!)
  • Pre-Cooked Shredded Chicken
    Note: You could use leftovers. I just pick up shredded rotisserie chicken from the grocery store and it works great!

easy chicken and rice. Single serving, one dish meal

Preheat your oven to 350. In a small casserole dish (mine is about 18.5 oz) combine the chicken broth, rice, cream of celery, and mushrooms. Add in a few pinches of onion soup mix to taste. Add the shredded chicken on top. Sprinkle more of the onion soup mix on the top to add a little more flavor and a nice crunch. Bake for 45 minutes until the top is golden brown. Boom. Done! So easy!

single serving chicken and rice. Quick and Easy meal for one!

This is the first combo that tastes like the family sized batches that I’ve been making for years. It is really yummy and so easy to make. It also cooks in half the time, a great bonus! Hopefully you might find this helpful if you need an easy single-serving meal or if you just need to come up with a quick dish after work.

 

12 thoughts on “Single Serving Chicken and Rice

    • Hey there! Nope, I definitely bake it for 45 minutes until the top is a nice golden brown. Let me know if you try the recipe! It is still one of my favorites. I usually make it a couple times a month!

Leave a comment