Get Healthy With Me: Single Serving Cherry Tomato Fusilli

Easy Single Serving Cherry Tomato Fusilli

I think it’s really funny that I’m sharing a recipe today. I’m not a foodie by any means. During my separation and divorce I really struggled with food. When your mind and body are going through a trauma it is easy to either turn to food as a coping mechanism or to forget to eat all together. I fell into the second category. During “the dark months” there were many days where I would forget to eat and I survived on a lot of bread and milk. It was hard to focus on preparing even the most simple meals. I remember trying to make boxed soup one day when I lost focus and didn’t remember that I had water boiling in my scorched pot until nearly an hour later. Last November, I weighed in under 90lbs. It was scary. I’m not trying to be so depressing. I’m only sharing my story with you today to explain that the recipe I have today is not the most healthy thing in the world. I know that. It does beat fast food, I think. However, for me, “getting healthier” was about sitting down for an actual meal at home and not skipping it. I sat down with a friend who was also going through divorce last winter, and we talked about how hard it is to cook for one person. You definitely have to get creative sometimes to try and get all the nutrients your body needs without making a TON of food or spending a lot of money when you’re suddenly surviving on a single income. This recipe is quick, easy and it has some veggies. It is the kind of dish that you can fall back on when you don’t have a lot of time, energy or focus. It can also be customized to serve a whole family or jazzed up by adding grilled chicken, asparagus, and serving with a salad on the side. Without further adieu: My Single Serving Cherry Tomato Fusilli

meals for one: cherry tomato fusilli

My neighbors are so incredibly kind. They have a small garden in their yard and we have been trading produce this fall. I have a pair of pear trees and they have juicy cherry tomatoes. I always get cherry and grape tomatoes confused. But I think the cherry tomatoes are round. I’m going with that. Anyway, it doesn’t get fresher than produce from the neighbors garden. Talk about eating local! Cherry Tomatos: easy to toss in a salad, pasta, or eat alone as a yummy snack Ok, now you guys are going to laugh when you see how easy this meal is! First, I just boil up my pasta. You can make as much or as little as you need. For a single serving, I grab about two handfuls of pasta. My favorite is the Fuscilli by DeCecco my favorite pasta After the pasta is tender, I add in my cherry tomatoes (cut in half), salt, pepper, and olive oil and toss it together right in my strainer. Then I add some basil and shaved parmesan cheese and toss that in as well. I add a little bit more basil and parmesan for garnish on the top and it’s ready to go! Yup, that’s it. Easy peasy!

meals for one: cherry tomato fusilli

Hopefully you might find this helpful if you need an easy single-serving meal or if you just need to come up with a quick dish for your family after work. Please let me know if you would like to see more easy recipes and “meals for one” here on the blog. If you or someone you know is going through a separation or divorce, check out Divorce Care and see if there is a group in your area. I don’t know where I would be without them. 

5 thoughts on “Get Healthy With Me: Single Serving Cherry Tomato Fusilli

  1. Yeas ago, I was in almost the same boat, but I had 2 small children. I cooked for them, but I didn’t eat…until the neighbors came by with two bags of groceries, and told me they were worried about me getting so thin. Good neighbors can be a life saver! They and several others actually did ‘save’ me and helped me get back on a life track. Hang in there, cherish your friends, and eat !! Being thankful for what you DO have is what will help you through. Later, much later, you will be thankful for what you DON’T have, as well!

    • I agree, it is so important to surround yourself with an amazing support system. I am so thankful for my family and my “family of friends”. I’m glad that you had such kind neighbors to lean on. Thank you for sharing your story.

  2. I’ve just gone through a divorce myself. We are still living together and there is a chance he might loose his leg. I need to seperate but don’t know if I can do it right now-kind-of a wait and see type thing and I love him, but I had just gone through a divorce with another man when I married again, and I have some religious convictions about that. Anyway divorce is tuff no matter what the reasons are for it.
    Well, I need all the help I can get so i might check out divorce care.

    Thanks for the recipe and God Bless.
    Rhonda

    • I’m so sorry that you are going through such a difficult time right now. Thank you for sharing your story. I sincerely hope that Divorce Care is helpful for you. The group really helped me turn to my faith in a time when everything was falling apart. I also struggle with divorce being at odds with my religious beliefs and this Christian led group was truly a life-saver.

  3. Pingback: Single Serving Chicken and Rice | HeartHavenHome

Leave a Reply

