Pizza Rolls Can Be Pretty

Whew, it’s been a while. I decided to take a little bit of a spring break from the blog to recharge.

A few weeks ago a friend shared this article on Facebook. I really thought it made a great point. As someone who spends their fair share of time on Pinterest, reading blogs, and sharing my homeownership journey with all of you, I totally understand how overwhelming it can be to be inundated by all things pretty. It can make a person feel pretty inadequate.

Even pizza rolls can be pretty

I was thinking about people who may only know me by what I’ve put on this blog and it really made me laugh. I’m definitely not the girl with the Pinteresty house or the pantry full of healthy food. Most days you’ll find me eating Pizza Rolls and chocolate milk in bed. Furthermore, my bed didn’t have sheets on it for an embarrassing amount of time. I still haven’t gotten my pipes fixed after Sewergate which means that my basement floods every time I do laundry or take a long shower. Yaaay. Also, my basement isn’t heated so I watch movies under 3 blankets in the winter. I have had a gallon of paint sitting in my guest room since August. There isn’t any art on my walls and I wouldn’t call my home “furnished” by any means. Sometimes I just throw away my cat’s litter box and buy a new one because I really hate scooping litter that much. These are the facts, friends.

Pretty pizza rolls

All of this is just to say that I use this blog to focus on the positive. To zoom in on the things in my life that make me happy and that I find beautiful. I don’t want anyone to be fooled into thinking I have it all together. It’s a struggle every day. But I’m just a real girl, on a single income, doing my best to make my house feel like a home. I just believe if you zoom in (with the right perspective) even Pizza Rolls can be beautiful!

4 thoughts on “Pizza Rolls Can Be Pretty

  1. I love the real~ness of your blog. Keep it simple and it will eventually be the way you want it. I won’t say it will be finished or furnished because THAT’s never ‘done’, but you have the right perspective…small glimpses into what makes YOU happy. It’s all about the small things anyway…

  2. Pingback: Fantasy Blue Bathroom Update | HeartHavenHome

Leave a Reply

