Sneak Peak at the set for “Other Desert Cities”

We can draw inspiration for our home decor from many sources. Many of our favorite TV shows feature amazing design and decor on their sets. I mean, we all wanted Monica’s apartment on Friends! I think its fun to look at theatre for ideas as well. Last week I shared a quick blurb about “Other Desert Cities” at Muskegon Civic Theatre for West Michigan Wednesday. I am having such a great time working on this show and feel so lucky to get to play each night on a beautiful set. I love the design elements that have been incorporated into our set. It is so fun to see a cohesive decor look come together for the show. It really feels like a home! Today I wanted to share a sneak peak and a closer look at our set! First, here is a wide shot. the set for "other desert cities" So pretty! Obviously, I want those beige chairs in my living room!! The show takes place almost entirely on Christmas Eve. I love the sweet little Christmas tree in the corner and the subtle holiday decor elements. the set for "other desert cities" the set for "other desert cities" http://startickets.com/search?q=Other+desert+cities&Itemid=124 I love the bar and I adore the beautiful picture window! It is so fun to see the colors change out the window through the show as time passes from morning to evening. the set for "other desert cities" Every bar needs drinks. I love this wine rack (the bottles are all empty, but you can’t tell from the audience!) and other liquor bottles add nice visual interest. the set for "other desert cities" the set for "other desert cities" Here is a glance to each side facing the bar. It really feels like you’re standing in a room! I love these swivel stools… so comfy!! the set for "other desert cities" the set for "other desert cities" My favorite feature of the set is the beautiful fireplace. It looks so gorgeous all lit up. Honestly, the fireplace is worth the ticket price alone! 😉 the set for "other desert cities" the set for "other desert cities" A great takeaway from this set is how monochromatic colors can work really well in letting unique architecture stand out. The beige colors in the wall and furniture really let the window and fireplace be the star! “Other Desert Cities” runs this weekend and next in at the Beardsley Theatre in Muskegon. Feburary 27, 28, March 1, 5, 6, 7. Buy your tickets here! I would love to see you there!

Leave a Reply

