HeartHavenHolidays: Easy Holiday Treats

I  don’t know about all of you, but for me December is just flying by! Christmas is already next week and I am feeling a little bit behind schedule. Last weekend I had the chance to visit my hometown and attend our family Christmas party. It was hosted at my Aunt’s home, which you may remember from the retirement/birthday party this fall. I didn’t take any photos but everything was just gorgeous and all decked out for the holidays like Bronners! And let me tell you about THE FOOD! My family doesn’t mess around when it comes to delicious food and holiday treats. I was so stuffed. For my share, I decided to make up a couple holiday treats to take. They are quick, easy and transport well. All things that I look for when deciding what to take for a holiday party!

So, without further ado, here are the two easy holiday treats that I made for my family Christmas party!

easy holiday treat. chocolate candy cane marshmallow bites

First up are my Chocolate Candy Cane Marshmallow Bites. I made these for the first time several years ago. Here is what you’ll need:

  • Jumbo Marshmallows
  • Wilton’s Candy Melts
  • Crushed Candy Canes

First I crushed my candy canes in a food processor. Trust me, it’ll change your life and it is so much less messy this way! Then I melted the candy melts in the microwave according to the directions. I used Dark Chocolate melts for these, but I think it would be so pretty to mix in a few with White Chocolate as well!

I stuck one of my stainless steel chopsticks through the marshmallow to make dipping easier, coated the marshmallow and tapped off the extra before placing it on a plate. Sprinkle the crushed candy canes on top and let them harden. Easy Peasy.

dark chocolate candy cane marshmallow bites

marshmallow bites. dark chocolate and peppermint. so yummy!

Quick Note: Make sure you lay down wax paper/parchment paper. It was late and I forgot this time around. Total Pinterest Fail. If you look close you can see that these are a bit cracked from pulling them off of the plate. Oh well! They still tasted good!

peppermint bark popcorn! This stuff is so addicting!

Up next is my Peppermint Bark Popcorn. This was such a hit. My family started calling it Christmas Crack. HA!! There are a ton of recipes and variations for this on Pinterest, but here is how I made mine.  

First, crush your candy canes in a food processor and set them aside. Lay down wax paper on your table or countertop. Melt 1/2 of a bag of candy melts according to the package instructions, I used white chocolate for mine. Pour 1/4 of the bag of popcorn into a small bowl. I split mine into four sections to  make it easier to work with. Scoop out the melted chocolate and stir it onto the popcorn until it is evenly coated. Pour the mixture onto the wax paper and flatten it out. Sprinkle the candy canes on top and let it harden. Repeat this for the rest of the popcorn. Once it’s hardened you can break up the pieces and enjoy!

Next time, I may stir in the peppermint right in the bowl so it is more evenly coated. The way I did it this time had a very clear top and bottom, but no one seemed to mind! 😉

peppermint bark popcorn. aka christmas crack!! So good,

peppermint bark popcorn. so easy to make and so yummy!! this was such a hit at my family christmas party

If you’re anything like me and feeling crunched for time, these treats are a great last minute gift for friends, family, neighbors, or your postman! If you make them, please let me know!!

Leave a Reply

