Nest Thermostat

That’s right friends, I have finally joined the 21st century with an energy saving thermostat! Several weeks ago I noticed the Nest Thermostat display at work. I read the packaging, got embarrassingly excited about it, and immediately added it to my wish list.

The Nest Learning Thermostat is a programable thermostat that actually learns your heating and cooling perferences. It has a weekly programable schedule as well as an auto away feature that can sense when you’re home so that you’re not heating or cooling an empty house. The Nest is also able to be controlled from your phone or tablet so you can monitor and control the temperature when you’re away. With the early-on feature, the thermostat also learns how long it takes to get your home to the desired temperature and ensures your house is toasty warm by the time you get home! I know for a lot of you this may not be as exciting as it was for me. But, just take a second and check out the thermostat that I was working with.

ye olde thermostat

Yup. You can see why the Nest Thermostat seemed like something out of a sci-fi movie to me! So, when these beauties went on sale for Black Friday, I had to snag one up! They are still a little pricey in the world of thermostats, but I figure I’ll make it all back in what I’ll save on my heating bills this winter alone!

The installation was quite simple. I sent a photo of my current set up and received a personalized wire configuration to install my new thermostat. There is also an easy to follow video on their website. Full disclosure, my brother helped me drill the holes into my plaster walls, because Kita (remember this project when I named my drill?) still scares me a little bit. (That is a drill pun.)

nest install

I am so in love with the sleek design! I used the backplate that came in the box. But I plan on patching and painting when I repaint my living room (hopefully soon!) and then I will remove the white back plate.

nest thermostat

nest thermostat

It is so pretty! I love checking my energy history and monitoring how much I saved compared to the previous day. I get so excited to see the leaf icon which means I’m conserving energy. I don’t know that it’s normal to be this pumped about a new thermostat. Seriously, I’m a huge fan! (See what I did there?)

I also plan on investing in the smoke/carbon monoxide alarms down the line. During my home inspection we noticed that I don’t have many smoke alarms in my home and my inspector suggested getting a system that links together. The alarm works with the thermostat so that if there is a suspected carbon monoxide leak, the gas furnace will be turned off to limit exposure. Pretty cool! (Wow. There are a lot of puns you can make about heating and cooling.)

Do you have a programable thermostat? Am I the only one who gets excited about being cost effective and energy efficient?

Leave a Reply

