I ♥ Fall: Easy Pumpkin Spice Hot Chocolate

Friends, I have a confession to make. I had never tried pumpkin spice before this year.

I know, right!? This is especially scandalous because I have a Starbucks at work. So, this fall I decided to see what all the fuss was about and picked up a cup of the ever-popular Pumpkin Spice Hot Chocolate…. and let me tell  you, it changed everything. I danced in the streets singing this Taylor Swift Parody:

I even documented the occasion with an Instagram selfie… ’cause lets be real, that’s how you know it’s serious.

 

I love fall. #sweaterweather #starbucks

A post shared by Katie (@hearthavenhome) on

I proceeded to treat myself to a luxury cup of cocoa every Tuesday for the next few weeks, until I remembered that I have a mortgage and I love buying sweaters. Le sigh.

Flash forward to earlier this week as temperatures dropped, snow was in the forecast, and I was strolling through the grocery store craving some warm cocoa. It occurred to me that perhaps I could make my own!

So, here is how I make my Pumpkin Spiced Hot Cocoa for about 60 cents* a cup!

easy DIY pumpkin spice hot cocoa for just a fraction of the cost!!

Ok, sidebar. I adore this coffee cup! My favorite mug was in the dishwasher, like always. But I picked this one up from Target earlier this fall and it probably comes in second at the moment. I love the simple, gold monogram. It is so stinking cute!

one of my favorite mugs. I love the simple gold monogram design.

Anyway, back to cocoa. First, I picked up some single serving Swiss Miss packets. I love using the packets because you don’t have to measure and I love having a few flavors to choose from rather than being tied to one huge tub of cocoa that I never finish. For my Pumpkin Spice Cocoa I decided to go with the Dark Chocolate Sensation flavor. It is so rich and yummy.

swiss miss single serve packets. I love hot cocoa made with dark chocolate

Then it was time to add some spice to my life cocoa. I visited the spices aisle first and another lady grabbed the last Pumpkin Spice right in front of me. It was devastating, but I was not to be deterred. As I sulked my way over to the dairy section to continue my grocery shopping I noticed two coolers full of coffee mate creamers. I figured, if it works for coffee why not cocoa!? So I picked up the Pumpkin Spice flavor and went on my way.

Pumpkin Spice coffee mate creamer. The lazy girl's way to a Pumpkin Spice Latte or Hot Cocoa

Putting everything together is so simple and easy. It is really the lazy girl’s Pumpkin Spiced Hot Chocolate! I just heat up my water using my electric kettle (which I love!) and add in the cocoa packet. I leave a little room at the top of the cup to add the creamer, it is quite strong so a little goes a long way in adding that festive fall flavor.

The dark chocolate works especially well with the creamer because the cocoa flavor is still so rich and creamy. It is delicious! I would have loved to go the extra step to make it pretty and add some whipped cream and sprinkle on a little Pumpkin Spice on the top. Can’t you just picture it!? Oh well, maybe next time, once they restock the spices.

Easy pumpkin spice hot cocoa

I can’t wait to try other festive flavors through the holiday season. I think once I finish the Pumpkin Spice, I want to try the Hazelnut creamer next. What else do you think I should try? How do you feel about the “Pumpkin Spice Everything” trend?

*Rough estimate… Math is hard. That’s why I was a Theatre major. 😉

Leave a Reply

