I ♥ Fall: DIY Autumn Wreath and Felt Rosette Tutorial

Today I’m going to share an older project that I still pull out every fall. A few years ago, I went a little wreath crazy and I made three wreaths, one for autumn, valentines day, and spring. I wasn’t going to put them out this year, but I saw this little guy peaking out at me from my fall storage tote and I just couldn’t say no. DIY rustic autumn wreath My wreath was super easy to make. All you need is a wreath, some yarn, colorful felt, and a glue gun. I just purchased a straw wreath from the craft store. I love the natural color and texture this style of wreath adds for the fall. Then, I picked up some yarn. Mine is a pretty cream color with flecks of green, orange, and brown. I wrapped the yarn around half of the wreath to leave some of the natural texture exposed. I made three little rosettes in fall colors which I hot glued onto the yarn and then added a few felt leaves to finish it off. Felt Rosette DIY tutorial The rosettes are super easy to make. All you need is a piece of felt. I usually cut mine into a circle or an oval shape. There is no need to be precise on this. In fact, jagged edges adds really nice texture to the petals. DIY rosette tutorial Then use your scissors to cut the circle of felt into a pinwheel or spiral shape. Again, do not make this perfect. DIY rosette tutorial Start with the interior of your spiral and start winding it together into a rosette shape. DIY felt rosette tutorial The effect is a pretty felt flower to add to your wreath, headband, or whatever craft you’re making!! DIY autumn wreath with felt rosette tutorial So thats it! A super easy craft that you can customize to fit your decor and each season. I’m even thinking of popping off the rosettes and making new ones in other colors to change it up a bit. What colors should I use? I am thinking of decorating for Thanksgiving with natural textures like burlap and popping in a few gold accents. As I mentioned, I do have a larger wreath for Valentines Day and another one this size for Easter/Spring. Would you be interested in seeing those as well when the time comes?

One thought on “I ♥ Fall: DIY Autumn Wreath and Felt Rosette Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Easy Springtime Wreath | HeartHavenHome

Leave a Reply

