Spooktacular Style: DIY Halloween Banner

Happy Halloween!! I hope you are all having a spooktacular holiday today. When going through my Halloween totes this year, I came across some old felt coasters that I picked up at Target on clearance a couple of years ago. I meant to do something with them last year, but never did. This year, I decided to use them to make a fun Halloween banner.

DIY halloween banner made from felt holiday coasters.

This was such an easy craft that I forgot to take pictures. Ooops! Anyway, here is what you’ll need.

I just hot glued the coasters onto my twine leaving a few inches between each one. I used my hardwood floors as a guide. Make sure to leave a good amount of twine on either side to attach it wherever you want to hang your banner. It has been so dreary outside the last few days, so the lighting in my house was not great. I took my banner outside and tied it onto my Tiki torches. It actually looked super cute!

easy halloween banner

This is such an easy way to add quick holiday fun to your home. You could hang it in front of the window, on a mantle, entry table, or even on your front porch. The possibilities are endless!

Halloween banner

Also, remember at the beginning of the month when I asked you to weigh in on the great pumpkin spray paint dilemma? I haven’t forgotten and I wanted to give you an update. Well, you guys voted and so I tried to spray paint my pumpkins a bright, glossy white. However, I left them outside to dry before applying a couple more coats and may have forgotten to check the weather. It rained all over my pumpkins!

pumpkins painted white

They are probably salvageable with a couple more coats of spray paint, but it has been so dreary and gross when I’ve had the time to touch them up. So, it looks like I might just be painting them again next year! Oh well!

Hope you all have a great Halloween!! What is your favorite part about this spooky holiday? Carving pumpkins, costumes, haunted houses, parties, or eating candy? All of the above?

2 thoughts on “Spooktacular Style: DIY Halloween Banner

  1. I had to laugh when I read that you left your painted pumpkins out in the rain! I spray painted a ceramic horsehead book end glossy white and forgot about it too! The rain made the paint separate in a weird way, so it looks like marble, and it is gorgeous! Sometimes our mistakes are serendipitous and lead to greater things than we intended! I like your pumpkins in the grass, anyway!

    • Haha right!? I woke up in the middle of the night with it raining and yelled “my pumpkins!!” I ran out and tried to pick up the whole piece of cardboard (with both pumpkins and two smaller items) and one of them roled off into the wet grass. Fail.

      Your bookends sound wonderful!! I just had weird yellow blotches on mine.

Leave a Reply

