DIY Decor: How To Paint Laminate Furniture Without Sanding


hot to paint laminate furniture without sanding

Today I am going to share the first big project that I have tackled at my new house. I decided to paint my bathroom vanity white… the easy lazy way! I have been so busy the past few months and so I have not had much time to work on any large scale projects. I decided that the first room on my to do list was going to be the bathroom on the main floor. The previous owners had made some fantastic upgrades throughout the home and there are only a few minor changes that I want to make to have the bathroom feel like my own. I previously shared the installation of my new rainfall shower head which I am still LOVING! Next, it was time to address the dark vanity and mirror.

before: dark bathroom furniture  that I painted a crisp, bright white

before: dark scuffed vanity that I painted a crisp, bright white

before: dark bathroom that I painted a crisp, bright white

I want my home to feel bright and airy. While the dark, cherry wood finish was pretty… it was getting fairly worn and did not do any favors for the small size of my bathroom. I decided to paint the furniture a crisp, bright white to help open things up and give a spa-like feeling to the room. The vanity and mirror were a laminate finish and I decided to go with “Behr’s Premium Plus Paint and Primer in One” in a semi-gloss finish to get great, long lasting coverage. I used the un-tinted ultra pure white, knowing that I could always take it back to home depot and get it re-tinted for free if the color was too harsh.

paint laminate furniture without sanding. Use Behr premium Ultra pant and printer in untinted, bright white.

I love this paint! First, I tried to lightly sand the vanity on one of the corners facing the wall and it looked TERRIBLE. I decided to go big or go home and began to paint away. The first coat was terrifying. I used a 2in angled brush and a small craft brush to get inside the cracks. No prep, just minimal stress about ruining my house forever. However, just four thin/even coats later and it was looking beautiful!

how to paint laminate furniture

painting laminate furniture without sanding

I found these cool knobs at Anthropologie on clearance for $2.99 and I couldn’t pass them up! I am in LOVE with them!

update knobs with beautiful accents from Anthropologie

stunning accent knobs from anthropologie to update your space on a dime

However, after I took these photos, I realized that everything else in the room is silver. I am totally fine mixing metals in my home but it was looking a little odd. I made a quick trip out to the store and picked up these silver based knobs and all was right in my matchy-matchy universe

adorable silver knobs from anthopologie to add character to your home on a dime

Don’t worry, the original gold accented lovelies already have a home in my hallway so it wasn’t a wasted sale.

updated silver knobs to anthropologie to add instant character

Wow! It is amazing the difference that paint can make. My bathroom already feels so much bigger and brighter.

Have you tried painting your bathroom vanity? What is your favorite trend in bathroom furniture?

5 thoughts on “DIY Decor: How To Paint Laminate Furniture Without Sanding

  1. Pingback: DIY Decor: New Knobs/Using My Drill For The First Time | HeartHavenHome

  2. Pingback: Get Organized: My Linen Closet | HeartHavenHome

  3. Pingback: Fantasy Blue Bathroom Update | HeartHavenHome

  4. Pingback: Raise The Roof… Er… I Mean The Shower Curtain  | HeartHavenHome

Leave a Reply

