Chapter Two: Morning Joy

I have tried to write this post so many times but can’t seem to get it out.

One year ago today, I started this little blog in the hopes of sharing the process of turning my new home into a place to raise a family. Last summer was filled with pinteresty projects and a LOT of spray paint.

In late September, my husband came home from another late night at the school and told me, seemingly out of nowhere, that he was leaving me. My world was shattered. I stopped posting, I stopped eating, and I just stopped functioning. It was the most painful experience of my life. Without going into too many personal details, over the next few months I found out many terrible truths about my “happy” marriage. I also learned some important things about myself along the way and I found strength I didn’t know I had. I went to individual therapy, joined a Christan support group, and was sent to physical therapy. I learned to use my snowblower, fixed the dishwasher, treated myself to solo breakfasts and afternoon movies alone. My divorce was finalized in April.

Meanwhile, my first house went up for sale in February and it sold in June, at a loss. I lived there for a grand total of one year and six days. first house During this time, I began to look for a new place to live. Renting did not prove to be a great option for me, for several reasons, so I contacted my realtor and began to look at buying. I had a fantastic lender who helped hurry the process and closed on my new home in June as well. I downsized by over 1,000sq ft. It is a tiny bit of space, but it is just for me and that makes it so special. ChapterTwo I have decided to name my new home “Morning Joy.” This was inspired by Paslm 30:5 “Weeping may endure for a night, But joy comes in the morning.” After a very long night, this is my new day. My new start.

To be honest, I debated scrapping this blog and starting over or giving up blogging all together. Then, I came across this quote on Pinterest and it made me stop and think.

Via

I hope this blog can be a creative outlet as I dive headfirst into solo homeownership. I also hope it can serve as inspiration for single women out there who may be starting over as well. We CAN do this!

I am embracing new experiences and excited to learn new skills. Over the last ten months I have learned what it means to start over. It hasn’t been easy or linear and it hasn’t been quick. However, I have welcomed new members into my family and found an amazing family of friends. Against all odds, I am so thankful. I am excited to share this new experience with you!

12 thoughts on “Chapter Two: Morning Joy

  1. Pingback: Making A Hand Painted Driftwood Sign | HeartHavenHome

  2. Pingback: Using A Reel Lawn Mower | HeartHavenHome

  3. Pingback: Succulent Care and Transplant Tips | HeartHavenHome

  4. Pingback: Get Organized: DIY Wooden Chalkboard Labels | HeartHavenHome

  5. Pingback: DIY Decor: How To Paint Laminate Furniture Without Sanding | HeartHavenHome

  6. Pingback: The Friday Five: My Big Ticket Furniture Wish List | HeartHavenHome

  7. Pingback: Pretty Bedroom Details | HeartHavenHome

  8. Pingback: Katie’s Book Nook: 5 Books That Helped Me Through Separation and Divorce | HeartHavenHome

  9. Pingback: Spooktacular Style: Tea Light Sculls and Spray Paint Decisions. | HeartHavenHome

  10. Pingback: I ♥ Fall: Easy Pumpkin Spice Hot Chocolate | HeartHavenHome

  11. Pingback: My New Pub Table | HeartHavenHome

  12. Pingback: Hello, it’s me… | HeartHavenHome

Leave a Reply

