My Wish List: Modern/Rustic Dining Room

I have so many ideas for our dining room! I really like the idea of mixing rustic finishes with modern or industrial pieces. Here is what our Dining Room looks like today:

IMG_0732

I would like to replace our white Ikea Table with a large, rustic Farmhouse Table and bench. This style is carried anywhere from Pottery Barn to World Market. It is even possible to pick them up at local antique or flea markets. Kurt and I have even been talking about building one. If we decide to go that route,  l just love  these plans by Anna White.

via

I love the look of mixing chairs around a farmhouse table. I think it would be fun to have a rustic bench and maybe even a few parsons chairs, like our cheapo clearance ones from Target. Here is an inspiration picture:

via

I would also love a Rustic Sideboard like this one from Wold Market. It would be great to hold all of my table linens that are currently just stacked up on the floor in the corner.

via

And I want to frame my prints from this Travel America calender by Rifle Paper Company above it.

via

We already have the Ikea Floating shelves from my roadtrip this summer. I would love to style them with fun artwork and these latte bowls from Anthropologie.

via

We have a ton of large mirrors that were taken down in the basement dance studio when we first moved in. I would love to stick one of them in the dining room and do something like this awesome project from Nine Red

via

I would also like to replace the chandelier that we have in the room currently with a large lantern like pendant. Maybe something like this:

via

Down the line, I would also like to have cohesive hardwood flooring throughout the main level and maybe add a fun area rug. It is so fun to imagine how this room might evolve down the line. What is your favorite look in a dining room? Are you drawn to something modern, rustic, or a little more traditional? Or do you prefer to nix the formal dinning room and have an eat in kitchen?

Leave a Reply

