Put Some Cork In It!?

Yesterday I shared one option for a broken frame with broken glass. Apparently, this is something that happens to me often and I didn’t want to make a ton of chalkboards… although that does sound like a good time to me! I decided to make a cork board with the other broken frame to help break up our  wall ‘o frames

IMG_0676

I just bought a roll of cork from Hobby Lobby. I laid it flat under some books to help flatten it out and prep it for the frame.

via

Then I traced out the shape that I wanted and cut out my cork.

IMG_0678

I kept the mat that came with the frame to add some dimension. Then I just used a hot glue gun to attach the cork to the mat. I used two layers of cork to make it a little thicker and give the tacks something to stick to.

IMG_0679

I have seen variations of this project done using a foam board under the cork to make it more sturdy but I didn’t have any on hand. I don’t plan on attaching a ton to this board. I mostly just love the texture of the cork. I pinned a cute piece of scrap book paper just to test it out.

DSC06927

I haven’t decided what will live on my cork board. I love this idea of a map or even something quirky like a chinese fortune or a card. The options are endless!!

Leave a Reply

