Chalk it up!

Here is the gallery wall/hall as we last left it.

IMG_0666

As I mentioned, I had two large frames with broken glass.  It seemed like such a waste to toss them out. For one of them,  I thought it might be fun to try and make a chalkboard to break things up a bit in the hallway.

DSC06922

I just picked up a roll of chalkboard vinyl from Hobby Lobby.  I have always wanted to try the stuff.

via

When I took apart my frame, I noticed that the backing was really rough and not ideal for sticking on vinyl. I’m a pretty impatient person and I didn’t want to wait another day before cutting a new piece of smoother wood or cardboard to adhere the vinyl. I figured I would just go for it an see what happened. The vinyl said that it could be moved later anyway. I traced out the size I wanted on the back. There were grids which made it easier for me to line up and cut straight.

Next,  I just pulled the backing off and laid the vinyl on the wood as smoothy as I was able. I used a credit card to help smooth out any bumps or ridges.  Then I stacked a few books on top and let it sit for a few episodes of “It’s Always Sunny”. Then, I reassembled the frame. It was such a pain to put back together! If I remember correctly, I broke the frame in the first pace trying to remove this backing. I think it is just a smidge too large. After some wrestling, I was able to get the thing put back together.

I remember reading that you should always cure a chalkboard before using it. I’m not sure if this is the same for vinyl but I figured, better safe than sorry! I put an even coating of chalk on the vinyl and then wiped it off.

DSC06925

 

Bam! Chalkboard! I’m really happy with how it turned out. This whole project took me maybe 15 minutes (plus a few episodes of our show) and most of that was trying to get the back put on!

IMG_0720

I will be back tomorrow to show you how I turned the other broken frame into a cork board.

4 thoughts on “Chalk it up!

  1. Pingback: Put Some Cork In It!? | HeartHavenHome

  2. Pingback: DIY Outdoor Chalkboard Scoreboard | HeartHavenHome

Leave a Reply

