DIY Decor: Update a Serving Tray

I loved spray painting the thrift store vases so much, I began to look for other things to update with a pop of color. I had an old tray from college that we’ve always kept in the living room to hold a  candle, my kindle and the remotes. It was pretty banged up from years of love

IMG_0772

First I sanded and used a liquid deglosser on the tray to take away the shine and give the paint a rougher surface to stick to.

IMG_0770

Then I gave the tray a couple of thin coats of spray primer. This is the same primer that I used on the barstools in my kitchen and they have been holding up really well. I wanted to make sure the tray will hold up to lots of traffic since we use it every day.

IMG_0767

I finished off this quick and easy project with the same bright green paint by Valspar left over from the vase project. These Valspar spray paints are my favorite, they have great coverage, beautiful colors, and a user friendly nozzle.

IMG_0769

I didn’t have a ton of paint left over from painting the three vases. The primer really helped the color pop and I was able to get away with two thin coats. I left the tray outside over night to dry and cure up. This is always the hardest part for me because I just want to bring everything in right away!

IMG_0760

I absolutely love this green color and it adds a little something to our living room.

IMG_0774

Have you ever updated old or thrifted items with spray paint? Do you like more neutral colors, crisp white, or bold colors for your accent pieces?

 

 

4 thoughts on “DIY Decor: Update a Serving Tray

Leave a Reply

