DIY Decor: Spray Painting Vases

We absolutely love our Ikea hack bookcases. They add an interesting architecture element to our living room and a whole lotta character!

IMG_0776

After completing the bookcase project I was overwhelmed by the amount of shelves to fill! This is supposed to be the fun part but I had no idea where to start. Our shelves are still no where near done  but I wanted to share a few inexpensive options for decorating.

I still want to add some smaller pieces, books, and frames but I have started with some larger “collection” type items. I’m sticking with a pretty basic color pallate of white and natural elements with pops of blue, green, and a few punches of yellow. Lately, I have been stocking up on interesting glass pieces from local thrift stores. I have found a few colored glass items but most of them are old vases in interesting shapes.

Here is my most recent haul.

IMG_0691

I start by cleaning them all up with hot soapy water. It makes a big difference right away.

IMG_0690

Then I just put on a couple of thin, even coats of spray paint.

IMG_0771

I have been loving Tropical Oasis by Valspar. It is the same color I used in my barstool project.

IMG_0768

I also tried this happy yellow color by Krylon. To be honest, it is not my favorite spray paint formulation, but it is such a pretty buttery color.

IMG_0718

And I recently have been loving this green, by Valspar.

IMG_0769

I like to use a gloss spray paint on the glass items because it almost makes it look like a ceramic collection and helps create a cohesive look even with different shapes and colors. I found a clear gloss spray paint by Valspar to gloss up this pretty green color.

IMG_0775

I love how these vases turned out!

One thought on “DIY Decor: Spray Painting Vases

  1. Pingback: DIY Decor: Update a Serving Tray | HeartHavenHome

Leave a Reply

