Updating A Plain Knife Block

I have been on a spray painting kick lately. I am seriously painting everything that I can get my hands on. While I would love to buy all brand new things for our house, that just isn’t an option. So, instead, I am giving new life to some of my old items.

When I was in college, my parents generously gave me a kitchen set with pots, pans, utensils and a knife block. Most of the set is long gone, after many moves and lots of roommates. However, that original knife set and block are still kicking. I have never even had to re sharpen them!  I don’t really like the look of a lot of things on the kitchen counters, but it is so convenient to have knives and a pair of scissors at easy reach. The blonde wood block just wasn’t cutting it for me aesthetically, so it was time for an update.

I just quickly sanded down my knife block and gave it a couple of thin coats of spray paint. I let it sit outside overnight to cure up and off gas before bringing it back in. I really love how it turned out.

DSC06868

I used “Tropical Oasis” paint and primer in one by Valspar. I had quite a bit left over after my stool project and I. LOVE. this. color! I just want pops of happy teal all over my home. It makes me smile every time I look at it. I think bringing some color into the kitchen helps tie in the stools and make everything look a little more intentional. Plus, the best part is this project was FREE. Can’t beat that!!

One thought on “Updating A Plain Knife Block

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Update: New Faucet | HeartHavenHome

Leave a Reply

